Inauguration of Loyola History Association 2019

The Department of History inaugurated the Loyola History Association for the academic year 2019-2020 on 12 July 2019 in L.S Hall at 11:30 am.



The programme began with a prayer song by the department choir and was followed by the lighting of the lamp. The Secretaries of History Department honoured the chief guest Justice S. Rajeswaran (retd.) of Madras High Court with a shawl, memento and bouquet. Rosario, Secretary of the History Association (Shift – I), gave a welcome address. Dr. D. Anuradha, HoD, felicitated the gathering. Prof. J. Ranganathan, Coordinator of History Department (Shift – II), addressed the gathering and introduced the chief guest. In the inaugural address, the chief guest S.Rajeswaran stated, "A leader is someone who is supposed to take responsibility, not just the pleasure of power". He highly stressed on the discipline and duties of a student saying, "If someone is not disciplined, he doesn't deserve a place in the society". Every institution, monument, flag, and individual has a history and people with history are considered as role models, he added. Further, he said that India has a rich culture, which should never be forgotten. He recollected the words of the former President of India Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam that the future

of the country is in the hands of the youth. He delivered a powerful message to the students by stating that every student should uphold their responsibilities with purity and clarity.

The chief guest presented each of the office bearers with a badge while the Presidents of the History Association Prof. Ahilan Joe Woutres (Shift – I) and Dr. B. Jisamol (Shift – II) introduced the office bearers to the audience. Prof. Ahilan Joe Woutres addressed the gathering and ended his speech with Gandhi's words: "My life is my message". Iyappan of II M.A and Sabarish Kumaran of II BA were the Masters of the Ceremony. The department secretary Shiva Prakash (Shift-II) delivered the vote of thanks.

The new office bearers and their portfolios:

Shift-I

- 1) Rosario (Secretary)
- 2) Jyotish (Cultural secretary)
- 3) Sabarish (Joint secretary)
- 4) Muthuraj (Sports secretary)
- 5) Balaji (Cultural coordinator)
- 6) Leo (Cultural secretary)
- 7) Ramesh (Sports coordinator)
- 8) Raja (Sports coordinator)
- 9) Yugesh (Events coordinator)

Shift-II.

- 1) Shiva Prakash (Secretary)
- 2) Kevin Christ (Joint secretary)
- 3) Viswanath (Cultural secretary)
- 4) Anbalagan (Sports secretary)
- 5) Aishwarya H Rao (PG Secretary)
- 6) Shaik Nayab (Cultural coordinator)
- 7) Tamilvanan (Cultural coordinator)
- 8) Arjun (Sports coordinator)
- 9) Ajay (Sports coordinator)

10) Karthikeyan (Event coordinator)

The new office bearers were congratulated and briefed about their duties and responsibilities.



Fresher's Day Celebrations

The association inaugural ceremony was followed by Fresher's day program. The program was hosted by Siva Shankar (III UG), Balaji (III UG), Kaleeswaran (III UG) and Narayani (I PG). Few of the fresher's used the platform to showcase their talents and a entertain the audience. This was followed by an ice—breaking session. The seniors welcomed their juniors by gifting post cards with quotes from history..

History Association Inaugural – A Visual Report



Welcome Address by Rosario, Secretary, Shift –I



Lighting the Lamp



Honouring the Chief Guest



Felicitation by
Dr.D.Anuradha, Head of the
Department



Prof. Ranganathan, Coordinator, Shift II, introducing the Chief Guest



Chief Guest Address



Prof.Ahilan Joe Woutres
Introducing Shift-I Office Bearers



Dr.Jishamol,
Introducing Shift-II Office Bearers



Vote of Thanks by Shiva Prakash, Secretary, Shift-II



Department Office Bearers & Association Team



Thank you