



Name of the event	:	LMA S2 (2022-2023) Inaugural function
Date	:	19-09-2022
Time	:	5.35 pm - 6.30 pm
Venue	:	Lawrence Sundaram Hall
Chief guest	:	Dr. B. Antline Nisha, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, St. Joseph's Institute of Technology, Chennai-600119

### REPORT

#### Objective

To inaugurate the Loyola Mathematics Association Shift 2 (LMA S2) for the academic year 2022-2023.

#### Summary

- All the staff members and students of the department of mathematics (Shift-II) participated in the function.
- Dr. S. Iruthaya Raj, the president of the association welcomed the chief guest, the coordinator and faculty members of the department, office bearers of the association and the students.
- The chief guest was introduced by Dr. T. Bharathi and felicitated by the coordinator and the president.
- The chief guest revealed the logo of the association which was designed by Mr. T. Anto Jovin (20-UMT-304).
- The theme of the logo was explained by Mr. Boga Nanda Kishore (20-UMT-218), the class representative of 3<sup>rd</sup> year A section.
- The team of office bearers of the association was introduced and honoured with badges by the chief guest in the presence of the coordinator of the department, president and vice president of the association.
- The office bearers took oath led by Prof. A. Christopher, the Vice president of the association.
- The coordinator in her address insisted on the importance of learning mathematics and making use of various opportunities to be given by the department of mathematics through the association LMA S2.
- The chief guest of the function gave the inaugural address. She outlined various ways to learn mathematics, and said that by utilizing various opportunities given by the Loyola mathematics association a student could get motivation to do research and get various opportunities in upcoming days. She also pointed out that students need not be panic to learn mathematics, but have to spend time to understand it by solving more problems.

• Finally, the vote of thanks was proposed by Mr. Sahaya Jeon Ronaldo, the secretary of the association.

### **Office bearers**

- Mr. S. Sahaya Jeon Ronaldo (20-UMT-207)
  Mr. J. Aswin Kumar (21-UMT-323)
- 2. Mr. J. Aswin Kumar(21-UMT-323)3. Mr. R. Barath(20-UMT-335)
- 4. Mr. D. Dhanush (20-UMT-226)

## **Faculty members**

- 1. Dr. J. Janet Sheeba (Coordinator of the Department)
- 2. Dr. T. Bharathi
- 3. Dr. S. Iruthaya Raj (President of LMA S2 2022-2023)
- 4. Mr. F. R. Emmanuel

(Vice President of LMA S2 2022-2023)

- Mr. A. Christopher
  Mr. D. Kumanan
- 7. Dr. J. Geno Kadwin
- 8. Dr. S. Ruth Julie Kavitha

# Members of the association

All the students of the department of mathematics (Shift-II) are the members of the association. A total number of 144 students from the department of mathematics (Shift-II) participated in the inaugural function.

# Image gallery





Secretary Joint Secretary Cultural Secretary Sports Secretary



















#### **Expected outcome**

Students of the department will have the opportunity to participate in various events, programmes and competitions to be organized by the Loyola Mathematics Association LMA S2 in the academic year 2022-2023.



# LOYOLA COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS), CHENNAI-34 DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS, SHIFT-II

You are cordially invited to the Inaugural function of



# Chief Guest

Dr. B. ANTLINE NISHA

Assistant Professor Department of Mathematics St. Joseph's Institute of Technology Chennai–600119



Monday, September 19th, 2022

LS Hall @ 5.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Mr. S. Sahaya Jeon Ronaldo Secretary Prof. A. Christopher Vice President

Dr. S. Iruthaya Raj President Dr. J. Janet Sheeba Coordinator