

Rev. Fr. L. D. Murphy, S.J., Memorial Football Tournament was instituted by Loyola College as part of the Platinum Jubilee celebrations of the college in 2000, in memory of Rev. Fr. L. D. Murphy, S.J., a distinguished Principal of Loyola College and the Chairman of the Madras University Sports and Tournament Committee. Rev. Fr. L. D. Murphy, S.J., was responsible in developing the infrastructure for sports and games in Loyola College. As Rector of Loyola, he developed the present cricket ground in 1935.

When he became the Principal in 1937, the Football field, 400 meters track with the cement gallery (1938) and cricket pavilion organizing an inter-collegeiate Football with basement store rooms(1942) came tournament for the student community of into existence. From its inception sports and games have played an integral part in the year 1993. Loyola has been organizing an inter-collegeiate Football tournament for the student community of Tamilnadu and the neighbouring states since 2000, the Platinum Jubilee year of the formation of students at Loyola College.

Loyola offers orgainzed sports activities not only to Lovolites but also to the student community all over the southern states of India. Therefore, it is with this mind goal in an inter-collegiate tournament in Tennis Singles in 1934. Tennis Doubles in 1935 and in 1936 Basketball was included. The above tournaments were named as Bertram Memorial Tournament in memory of Rev. Bertram, S.J., who was the Founder-Principal of the college. In 1937, Rev. Fr. L. D. Murphy, S.J., included Volleyball in the Bertram Memorial Tournament, Ball badminton was started in the year 1993. Loyola has been organizing an inter-collegeiate Football tournament for the student community of since 2000, the Platinum Jubilee year of

REV. FR. L. D. MURPHY, S.J. MEMORIAL FOOTBALL TOURNAMENT - 2023

PATRONS

Rev. Dr. Francis P. Xavier S.J. Rector

Rev. Dr. B. Jeyaraj S.J. Secretary & Corespondent

CHAIRMAN

Rev. Dr. A. Thomas, S.J. Principal

PRESIDENT

Rev. Dr. A. Louie Albert S.J. Director of Sports & Games

TOURNAMENT SECRETARY

Dr. S. Vijayakumar

Director of Physical Education

Mr. D. Pajanivel

Assistant Physical Director

MEMBERS

Dr. J.A. Charles | Rev. Dr. M S Joseph Antony Jacob S.J. |

Dr. A. John Maria Xavier | Ms. Jeyamani Divya Christodoss |

Mr. Simon Aju Sudhakar | Dr. S. Arul Francis | Dr. D. David Stanley |

Mr. Issac Francis | Dr. Annam Ragamalika | Dr. S. Arockia Anto Anita |

Dr. K.S. Anthonysamy | Dr. Justin Royappa | Dr. P. Mary Jessi Rani |

Dr. R. Saritha | Dr. D. Robert Selvam | Mr. S. R. Vincent Vijayaraj |

Dr. S. Anuja | Dr. Leema Rose | Ms. J.S. Chithra | Mr. G. Joy Samuel Dhanaraj |

Ms. A. Joylin Zeffora | Mr. I. Joseph Arc Leo |

TROPHY HOLDERS

2000 Loyola College, Chennai 2001 Lovola College, Chennai 2002 St. Joseph's College, Trichy 2003 St. Joseph's College, Trichy 2004 St. Joseph's College, Trichy 2005 Jamal Md College, Trichy 2006 St. Joseph's College, Trichy 2007 Lovola College, Chennai 2008 Loyola College, Chennai 2009 Lovola College, Chennai 2010 Nirmala College, Kerala 2011 Loyola College, Chennai 2012 Loyola College, Chennai 2013 Loyola College, Chennai 2014 M.C.C, Chennai 2015 Loyola College, Chennai 2016 Loyola College, Chennai 2017 Nirmala College, Kerala 2018 Jeppiar Engg., Chennai 2019 M.C.C. Chennai 2020 Vel's University, Chennai

TOURNAMENT RULES AND REGULATIONS

- The Tournament commences on 23.02.2023 and is open to all colleges in INDIA.
- 2. The eligibility to participate in the tournament:
 - a) All participants should satify the current eligibilty rules framed by the all India Inter University Sports Board of India. However, the age limit for any player to participate in Murphy Tournament is 25 only.
 - b) Participants representing a college must have passed the higer Secondary Examination(+2) or Equivalent Qualifying Examination.
 - c) Open University, Correspondence course students are not eligible.
 - d) The eligibilty details must be furnished in the enclosed entry form duly signed by the Head of the Institution/ Director of Physical Education.
 - e) The Coach / Manager / Players must be ready to produce the photocopy of +2, Pre-Degree or Degree certificate of the player at the time of any enquiry against eligibility.
- 3. All the matches will be played at Loyola College ground following the latest rules of the Football Federation.
- A team should consist of 18 players, a Coach and a Manager.

- 5. No team will be allowed to compete in the tournament without the Physical Director / Coach.
- 6. Outstation Teams will be given unfurnished accommodation on the college premises.
- The Entry form should be sent only to the Director of Physical Education, Loyola College, Chennai - 600 034.
 Email: dirphyedu@loyolacollege.edu
 Contact : Dr.S.Vijaya Kumar - 9962301262
- 8. Last date for Registration is 30.01.2023.
- In all matters concerning the tournament, the committee's decision will be final.
- 10. The tournament committee has the right to accept or reject any entry.
- 11. a) Rev. Fr. L. D. Murphy, S.J.,trophy for football will be awarded to the winning college, which shall be responsible for its safe custody and return of the trophy in the same condition to the Principal, Loyola College on request.
 - b) Prize Money, Medals and Merit Certificates will be awarded Winners Rs. 10000

Runners - Rs. 7000

Third Place - Rs. 5000

Fourth Place - Rs. 3000

12. We Use COSCO DELTA FORCE Footballs.

Dr.S.VIJAYAKUMAR

Tournament Secretary & Director of Physical Education